Single Blog Title

SIA Press Releases

SIA Urges Senate to Reconfirm FCC Commissioner Michael O’Reilly

Washington, D.C., June 15, 2020 – The Satellite Industry Association (SIA) today strongly urged the United States Senate to confirm FCC Commissioner Michael O’Rielly after being nominated earlier this year by President Trump for a new term at the Federal Communications Commission (FCC).

Commissioner O’Rielly was nominated for a seat on the FCC by President Obama and was sworn into office in November 2013. In January 2015, he was confirmed and sworn into office for a second term.  Prior to joining the agency, Commissioner O’Rielly spent almost 20 years working in prominent Republican communication policy and leadership positions for the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate.

“The Satellite Industry Association strongly encourages the U.S. Senate to rapidly confirm Commissioner Michael O’Rielly’s nomination to serve at the FCC for another term,” said Tom Stroup, President of SIA.  “Today’s challenging times underline the vital importance of bridging the digital divide and bringing ubiquitous and reliable connectivity to unserved and underserved Americans throughout the country.  SIA and its members look forward to continuing to work with Commissioner O’Rielly and his staff as the commercial satellite industry continues to expand while rolling out new and innovative services including next-generation 5G connectivity.”


About The Satellite Industry Association

SIA is a U.S.-based trade association providing representation of the leading satellite operators, service providers, manufacturers, launch services providers, and ground equipment suppliers. For more than two decades, SIA has advocated on behalf of the U.S. satellite industry on policy, regulatory, and legislative issues affecting the satellite business. For more information, visit

SIA Executive Members include: Amazon; AT&T Services, Inc.; The Boeing Company; EchoStar Corporation; Intelsat S.A.; Iridium Communications Inc.; Kratos Defense & Security Solutions; Ligado Networks; Lockheed Martin Corporation; OneWeb; SES Americom, Inc.; Space Exploration Technologies Corp.; Spire Global Inc.; and Viasat Inc. SIA Associate Members include: ABS US Corp.;  AIRBUS U.S. Space & Defense, Inc.; Amazon Web Services; Analytical Graphics, Inc.; Artel, LLC; Astranis Space Technologies Corp.; Blue Origin; Eutelsat America Corp.; ExoAnalytic Solutions; Globalstar, Inc.; HawkEye 360; Hughes; Inmarsat, Inc.; Kymeta Corporation; Leonardo DRS; Lynk; Omnispace; OneWeb Satellites; Panasonic Avionics Corporation; Peraton; Planet; Telesat Canada; and XTAR, LLC. SIA Affiliate Members include: The Aerospace Corporation; AQYR Technologies; COMSAT; Envistacom, LLC; Integrasys LLC, Kaman Precision Products; Kencast; Media Broadcast Satellite; NB+C; Phasor; Plexus Corp; Radeus Labs, Inc.; Sheppard Mullin; Skylo Technologies; and Wiley