SIA Events

SIA’s November Webinar, “The Square Kilometer Array Observatory and Constellations”

November 18, Noon – 1:00 pm (ET) via Microsoft Teams
For complimentary registration, please click here.


Tim Stevenson, Head of Assurance, SKAO
Federico Di Vruno, Spectrum Manager, SKAO

Moderated by:

Therese Jones, Senior Director of Policy, SIA

While satellites and radioastronomy have historically co-existed with large success due to ITU regulations, technological paradigm shifts in the operation of satellite constellations and scientific demands on radio observatories suggest cooperation will be needed to preserve radioastronomy in the 21st century. Today’s radio observatories look to passively observe across a wide range of frequencies whilst co-existing with moderate levels of interference, but risk drastically reduced access to the sky from the growing number of satellites on orbit. New technologies such as spot beams and software-defined payloads can mitigate this risk to radio quiet zones, while pre-existing astronomy partnerships on the ground could enhance the ability of satellite operators to provide service to regional stakeholders.

The SKA is destined to be the largest and most powerful radio observatory on Earth. Construction has started, and this ambition will be achieved in the first phase, to be completed by 2028. The organisation that will build and operate the two telescopes is an International Intergovernmental Organisation established by Treaty, with seven initial signatories (Australia, China, Italy, the Netherlands, Portugal, South Africa, United Kingdom) and seven more collaborating or acceding States (Canada, France, Germany, India, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland). In recognition of the world class status of the facilities, Australia and South Africa have established Radio Quiet Zones (RQZ) in their respective countries, protected by Statute, and with investments on the ground to compensate local communities for the local loss of connectivity such as mobile phones which are banned. A low frequency telescope is being built in the Australian RQZ situated in the Western Australian Murchison desert and a mid frequency telescope in the Karoo region of South Africa’s Northern Cape. Telescopes are made up of an array of antenna stations (Low) and dishes (Mid) arranged in a spiral pattern extending 63km (Low) and 150km (Mid).

The legislation that establishes the RQZs effectively limits terrestrial radio emissions. Emissions from aviation, being safety related, can only be controlled by mutual agreement over flight paths. Spaceborne radio emissions are only controlled by the administration of the state of registration, ITU Radio Regulations and possibly through the licensing of ground infrastructure by the national administrations. Spaceborne radio emissions are becoming of concern in the new era of LEO and MEO constellations.

The SKA Observatory has a Spectrum Management Strategy which specifies the stance the Observatory takes on relations with the radioastronomy community worldwide, the national telecommunications administrations of the Member States, and industry. We are taking this opportunity to introduce ourselves and our proactive and collaborative approach to industry in what we see as mutual benefit.

For the SIA workshop, keep what you have but change the dates to December 15-16 (from Dec 14-16) and add the word Virtual before the word DoD l (aka: SIA’s 17th Annual Virtual DoD Commercial SATCOM Workshop Co-Sponsored by U.S. Space Command.
Also remove the following two sentences: The 2021 Workshop is currently scheduled to be held live unless SIA determines it is not legal or safe to do such. SIA will convert this event to a virtual one if we are not able to hold a live event.
Remove all the verbiage for the Leadership dinner and add the following:
SIA’s 23rd Annual Leadership Dinner: Monday, March 21, 2022 at the Spy Museum.

Please contact SIA’s Senior Director of Events and Operation for further details. To register, please click here.

To view past SIA webinars, please click here.

SIA’s 17th Annual Virtual DoD Commercial SATCOM Workshop Co-Sponsored by U.S. Space Command

December 15-16, 2021

Each year, the DoD Commercial SATCOM Workshop brings together government leaders from DoD Combatant Commands, Services and Agencies as well as commercial satellite industry operators, service providers, integrators, ground equipment suppliers, and manufacturers.

Interested in:
A Sponsorship?
A Speaking Slot?

Visit or contact Jennifer Williams, SIA’s Senior Director of Events and Operations, at

*Note: U.S. Space Command co-sponsorship of this event does not constitute federal endorsement of SIA or any other sponsors of this workshop.

SIA’s 23rd Annual Leadership Dinner: Monday, March 21, 2022 at the Spy Museum


Please contact SIA’s Senior Director of Events and Operation for further details.