SIA Working Groups

Cybersecurity Working Group
The cybersecurity working group meets on an ad hoc basis to discuss industry cybersecurity best practices and recommendations.

Export Control Working Group (EWG)
The EWG focuses on Export Control issues and meets when export control related- issues arise.

Government Working Group (GWG)
The SIA Government Working Group is largely focused on acquisition related issues. The GWG hosts quarterly DoD/Executive Industry Commercial SATCOM roundtables, classified threat briefings, Commercial Space INFOSEC Working Group meetings and more.

Legislative Working Group (LWG)
SIA’s LWG covers U.S. legislative affairs, holds monthly working group meetings, and holds meetings on satellite-related issues with congressional offices.

PR and Media Working Group (PRWG)
The SIA PR and Media Working Group is a working group formed to leverage the collective PR and Media strengths of the Association and its Members. The group consists of marketing, PR and social media personnel from SIA Executive and Associate member companies. The goal of the group is to find ways to increase the dissemination and effectiveness of SIA’s press releases, social media posts, event announcements and other external communications.

Regulatory Working Group (RWG)
The SIA RWG meets monthly and covers all US and international regulatory work, including FCC, NOAA/Commerce, NTIA, and ITU. This is SIA’s most active working group and it drafts comments and replies on all relevant issues.

Space Safety Working Group (SSWG)
SIA’s SSWG is working on creating industry recommendations related to Space Policy Directive 3 on space traffic management, data sharing, and radio frequency interference. This group has been very active with the Administration’s focus on space situational awareness.

Earth Observation Forum (EOF)
The SIA EOF meets monthly and is an earth observation-focused group.

Mike Mineiro, HawkEye 360 Inc.
Nathan Johnson, Planet Labs PBC

Kirsten Shumway, The Boeing Company

Sharyn Nerenberg, EchoStar

SIA Cybersecurity Working Group Co-Chairs
Jennifer Manner, EchoStar
Donna Bethea Murphy, Inmarsat

Jon Bennett, SES

SIA LWG Co-Chairs
Gwendolyn Brown, Lockheed Martin
Jeff O’Neil, Planet Labs PBC

SIA RWG Co-Chairs
Cindy Grady, Intelsat
Aaron Goldberger, Amazon Kuiper

SIA SSWG Co-Chairs
Jennifer Warren, Lockheed Martin
Jennifer Manner, EchoStar