SIA News & Resources

SIA Press Releases

Satellite Industry Association Applauds Senate Confirmation of Anna Gomez as FCC Commissioner

Washington, D.C., September 7, 2023 – The Satellite Industry Association (SIA) today applauded the United States Senate for confirming Anna Gomez as the newest Commissioner of the Federal Communications Commission (FCC). In May, U.S. President Joe Biden nominated Ms. Gomez who is the leader of the U.S. delegation for this year’s World Radiotelecommunication Conference (WRC-23). She is the former Deputy Administrator of the National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA) and previously served as Deputy Chief of the International Bureau at the FCC.

“SIA and its members applaud the U.S. Senate for the confirmation of Anna Gomez as the newest Commissioner of the FCC,” said Tom Stroup, president of the Satellite Industry Association. “As a long-time public servant and communications law practitioner, Ms. Gomez brings with her a wealth of policy, private enterprise and legal expertise regarding telecommunications and international satellite spectrum management. We look forward to working with her and the entire FCC leadership. SIA also commends the Commission for recognizing the expanding importance of commercial satellites while creating a regulatory regime that supports industry innovation and American space leadership.”

About The Satellite Industry Association
SIA is a U.S.-based trade association providing representation of the leading satellite operators, service providers, manufacturers, launch services providers, and ground equipment suppliers. For more than two decades, SIA has advocated on behalf of the U.S. satellite industry on policy, regulatory, and legislative issues affecting the satellite business. For more information, visit

SIA Executive Members include: Amazon; The Boeing Company; DIRECTV; EchoStar Corporation; HawkEye 360; Intelsat S.A.; Iridium Communications Inc.; Kratos Defense & Security Solutions; Ligado Networks; Lockheed Martin Corporation; Northrop Grumman; OneWeb; Planet Labs PBC; SES Americom, Inc.; Spire Global Inc.; and Viasat Inc. SIA Associate Members include: ABS US Corp.; The Aerospace Corporation; Artel, LLC; AST Space Mobile; Astranis Space Technologies Corp.; Aurora Insight; Comtech; Eutelsat America Corp.; ExoAnalytic Solutions; Inmarsat, Inc.; Kymeta Corporation; Leonardo; Lynk; Omnispace; OneWeb Technologies; Ovzon; Panasonic Avionics Corporation; Skyloom; Telesat Canada; ULA and XTAR, LLC. SIA Affiliate Members include: Digital Locations, Inc.; DLA Piper; EVONA; Genus Group; Hogan Lovells; Integrasys LLC; Keysight Technologies, Inc.; Media Broadcast Satellite; Orange Business; Orbital Research; Peraton; Plexus Corp; SD Government; Sheppard Mullin and Wiley