SIA News & Resources

SIA Press Releases

New Executive Committee Officers for 2019

Satellite Industry Association Announces New Executive Committee Officers

Washington, D.C., January 08, 2019 – The Satellite Industry Association (SIA) today announced the SIA Executive Committee Officers Board of Directors elected for 2019: Bruce Cathell of Viasat Inc., as Chair, Susan Crandall of Intelsat as Vice Chair and Stuart Daughtridge of Kratos as Treasurer.

“It is with great pleasure that we announce our Executive Committee for 2019,” said Tom Stroup, President of SIA. “Each of these leaders bring with them a wealth of knowledge and a vast amount of commercial and regulatory experience coming from companies that span the ever-increasing capabilities of the satellite industry.

From global telecommunications, satellite broadband, inflight connectivity and high throughput technology to ground system support for small satellites, GEO and new LEO constellations, remote sensing and imaging, cyber security and defense – the new Executive Committee and Board appropriately reflect the growing importance and functionality of today’s commercial satellite industry. I would like to thank SIA’s outgoing committee for their service during the past 12 months and we look forward to a new year as the voice of the U.S. satellite industry.”

Bruce Cathell is Vice President, Government Operations at Viasat, Inc.  Bruce is the principle senior executive interfacing to the US Government and leads all aspects of Viasat’s Defense & Aerospace Operations in the Washington, DC area.  In this capacity, Bruce provides technical, policy, regulatory, budgetary and trade compliance leadership across all aspects of Viasat’s Government Systems broad products and services portfolio.

Bruce has worked a variety of space programs in his nearly 30 year career in industry and government, having most recently worked at the Office of the Secretary of Defense, where he provided program oversight of multi-billion dollar satellite and terminal programs.

In this role, Bruce led a number of Department level studies on satellite communications, led acquisition efforts to turn around underperforming programs, worked policy, budget and legislative issues, authored a number of congressional reports on satellite communications and drafted speeches and press releases.

Bruce is well versed in commercial and military communications satellites, ground control segments, terminals, satellite manufacturing and launch operations.  Bruce holds engineering degrees from Virginia Tech University and Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University.

Susan H. Crandall is Associate General Counsel of Intelsat Corporation, where she is responsible for compliance with U.S. communications law and policy.  Prior to joining Intelsat, Susan was Of Counsel in the Washington, D.C. office of Morrison & Foerster, where she counseled media and satellite clients. 

Stuart Daughtridge is Vice President of Advance Technology for Kratos.  Mr. Daughtridge has been with Kratos since 1999, and in the satellite and aerospace industry since 1986. In his current position, Mr. Daughtridge leads Kratos’ satellite ground segment technology initiatives including the planning for the next generation of ground segment technology, as well as managing the RF and Network product development teams.

Prior to his current role, he held several senior management positions, including SVP & GM of the Kratos-Integral Systems Products and Commercial Groups, as well as Program Manager of several major commercial programs.  Before joining the Company, Mr. Daughtridge held various management and engineering positions with Orion Satellite Corporation, Intelsat, and Spacecom.  Mr. Daughtridge holds a Bachelor of Science from Lafayette College.

Satellite Industry Working Groups for 2019

As a trade association representing the commercial satellite industry, SIA has established working groups involved with a host of policy issues including: regulatory issues (satellite licensing, spectrum allocation and regulatory policy); government services, earth observation legislation, public safety, export control policy and international trade issues. SIA is a recognized focal point for the U.S. satellite industry in Washington, D.C., representing and advocating industry positions with key policy makers on Capitol Hill and with the White House, Federal Communication Commission and most Executive Branch departments and agencies.  Below is a list of Working Groups and Co-chairs for 2019.

Earth Observation Forum – George John (Spire Global) and Craig Scheffler (Planet)

Export Control Working Group – Kirsten Shumway (Boeing) and Megan Kane (Spire Global)

Government Working Group – Tom Boyer (Kymeta) and Earl Madison (Lockheed Martin)

Legislative Working Group – Gwen Brown (Lockheed Martin) and Todd Putnam (Viasat)

Regulatory Working Group – Giselle Creeser (Intelsat) and Petra Vorwig (SES)

Space Safety Working Group – George John (Spire Global) and Jennifer Manner (EchoStar)

About The Satellite Industry Association

SIA is a U.S.-based trade association providing representation of the leading satellite operators, service providers, manufacturers, launch services providers, and ground equipment suppliers. For more than two decades, SIA has advocated on behalf of the U.S. satellite industry on policy, regulatory, and legislative issues affecting the satellite business. For more information, visit

SIA Executive Members include: AT&T Services, Inc.; The Boeing Company; EchoStar Corporation; Intelsat S.A.; Iridium Communications Inc.; Kratos Defense & Security Solutions; Ligado Networks; Lockheed Martin Corporation; ; SES Americom, Inc.; Space Exploration Technologies Corp.; Spire Global Inc.; and Viasat, Inc. SIA Associate Members include: ABS US Corp.;  Airbus Defense and Space, Inc.; Analytical Graphics, Inc.; Artel, LLC; Blue Origin; DataPath Inc.; Eutelsat America Corp.; ExoAnalytic Solutions; Globecomm; Globalstar, Inc.; Glowlink Communications Technology, Inc.; HawkEye 360; Hughes; Inmarsat, Inc.; Kymeta Corporation; Leonardo DRS; Panasonic Avionics Corporation; Peraton; Planet; SSL; Telesat Canada; Ultisat, Inc.; and XTAR, LLC. SIA Affiliate Members include: The Aerospace Corporation; AQYR Technologies; COMSAT; Envistacom, LLC; Kencast; Newtec; ; RUAG Space; Sheppard Mullin; and Wiley Rein LLP